Four SanDiegoStory Writers Take Press Club Awards

The San Diego Press Club released its list of recipients of its annual awards today, and four writers were among the recipients of the 2013 recognitions for excellence in journalism.

Writers David Dixon, Bill Eadie, Kris Eitland, and Kenneth Herman were listed as award winners.  The place of each award (first, second, or third), and the category in which the award was given will be announced at the Press Club’s 40th annual recognition ceremony on October 29 at the Jacobs Center at Market Creek.

Categories in which writers were considered included Arts and Entertainment Reviews, Arts and Entertainment Reporting, and Essay/Commentary, all of which competed with writers for daily newspapers and websites.  In addition, writers competed in the category of story written for an entertainment website.

David Dixon

David Dixon

David Dixon reviews theatre for A fan of film and theatre from a very young age, David has written reviews for the San Diego Union Tribune Column, Rated G, and A graduate of San Diego’s School of Creative and Performing Arts, David wrote articles for the school newspaper, The Production. He currently is the Entertainment Editor for San Diego State’s newspaper, The Daily Aztec.

Bill Eadie

Bill Eadie

Bill Eadie reviews theatre for, as well as for Previously, Bill also wrote for He is a member of the San Diego Theatre Critics Circle and a professor in the School of Journalism and Media Studies at San Diego State University. Bill has won two other Excellence in Journalism Awards from the San Diego Press Club.

Dance Critic

Kris Eitland

Kris Eitland reviews dance and theatre for  Kris grew up performing tap, ballet, jazz, and musical theater, and continued intensive studies in modern dance and choreography at the University of Minnesota, Duluth. She started writing about dance and the arts while completing degrees in journalism and dance at San Diego State University. She was the dance critic for from 2006 to 2012. She has written for Dance Magazine, Dance Teacher, TheatreForum, San Diego CityBeat, Espresso, and ArtPulse. Her career includes stints in commercial and public radio news production. Kris has won numerous Excellence in Journalism awards from the San Diego Press Club. She has served on the Press Club board since 2011.

Ken Herman

Kenneth Herman reviews music, opera, and theatre for A classically trained pianist, organist and choral conductor, Ken began writing music criticism while teaching Music History at San Diego State University. At the invitation of the late Donald Dierks, distinguished Music Critic of the San Diego Union, he reviewed concerts and recitals for that paper. A few years later, he became the classical music writer and critic for the San Diego Edition of the Los Angeles Times, a post he held until it ceased publication in 1993. Until recently, he covered classical music in San Diego County for In 2010, he received first place in the San Diego Press Club’s Excellence in Journalism Awards for music criticism.

Other writers include Welton Jones, the dean of San Diego theatre critics, Janice Steinberg, who reviews dance, performance art, and theatre, and Kraig Cavanaugh, who reviews visual arts. The managing partner of is Mark Burgess, founder of and owner/web architect of Page Mountain, LLC. was begun by Mark Burgess, Bill Eadie, Kris Eitland, Kenneth Herman and Welton Jones in 2012 to provide the San Diego community with high quality reviews, news, and opinion in the arts. 2013 is the first time that as an organization has competed in the press club awards competition.  Among its notable achievements has been deployed coverage of the first San Diego Fringe Festival, and the site will again deploy its writers to cover the upcoming WoW Festival, as it happens, on the La Jolla Playhouse campus.


Leave a Comment