

JACOBS MASTERWORKS

CARNEGIE HALL PREVIEW with AUGUSTIN HADELICH

Friday, October 4, 2013, 8pm Saturday, October 5, 2013, 8pm Sunday, October 6, 2013, 2pm

All performances at Symphony Hall

Jahja Ling, conductor Augustin Hadelich, violin

PROGRAM

JOHN STAFFORD SMITH / OTTO-WERNER MULLER

The Star-Spangled Banner

DAVID BRUCE

Night Parade (world premiere)

SAM BARBER

Violin Concerto, Op. 14

Allego Andante

Presto in moto perpetuo

INTERMISSION

SERGEI PROKOFIEV

Symphony No. 5 in B-flat Major, Op. 100

Andante

Allegro moderato

Adagio

Allegro giocoso

David Bruce's *Night Parade* is the second of three pieces commissioned by the San Diego Symphony in its first ever multi-work commissioning project. For this large task, David Bruce has been named Associate Composer of the SDSO, and his works will span three seasons. This second work opens the SDSO's 2013-2014 season, and will also make its New York debut at the San Diego Symphony's Carnegie Hall performance on October 29, 2013. The third work of this three-part commission will be a violin concerto featuring renowned violinist Gil Shaham, to be premiered by the SDSO in the fall of 2014. The Associate Composer program and commissioning of these three works has been generously sponsored by **Sam Ersan** and **Gordon Brodfuehrer**, to whom we give great thanks.



SAN DIEGO SYMPHONY ORCHESTRA SEASON 2013-2014 JAHJA LING, MUSIC DIRECTOR

VIOLIN

Jeff Thayer

Concertmaster

DEBORAH PATE AND JOHN FORREST

CHAIR

Nick Grant

Principal Associate Concertmaster

Jisun Yana

Associate Principal I

Alexander Palamidis

Principal II

Mei Ching Huang

Associate Principal II

Randall Brinton

Yumi Cho

Hernan Constantino

Alicia Engley

Pat Francis

Kathryn Hatmaker

Angela Homnick

Igor Pandurski

Julia Pautz

Wesley Precourt

Susan Robboy

Shigeko Sasaki

Yeh Shen

Anna Skálová

Edmund Stein

Hanah Stuart (S)

John Stubbs

Pei-Chun Tsai

Jing Yan

Joan Zelickman

VIOLA

Thomas C. Turner

Acting Principal

KAREN AND WARREN KESSLER CHAIR

Nancy Lochner

Associate Principal

Rebekah Campbell

Chi-Yuan Chen Wanda Law

Qing Liang

Thomas Morgan

AJ Nilles

Dorothy Zeavin

Gareth Zehngut

CELLO

Yao Zhao

Principal

Chia-Ling Chien

Associate Principal

Marcia Bookstein

Glen Campbell

P6

Karla Holland-Moritz

Richard Levine

Ronald Robboy

Mary Oda Szanto

Xian Zhou (S)

BASS

Jeremy Kurtz-Harris

Principal

SOPHIE AND ARTHUR BRODY

FOUNDATION CHAIR

Susan Wulff

Associate Principal

W. Gregory Berton

Samuel Hager

Jory Herman

Margaret Johnston +

Allan Rickmeier

Michael Wais

FLUTE

Rose Lombardo

Principal

Sarah Tuck

Elizabeth Ashmead

PICCOLO

Elizabeth Ashmead

OROF

Sarah Skuster

Principal

Betsy Spear

Andrea Overturf

ENGLISH HORN

Andrea Overturf

CLARINET

Sheryl Renk

Principal

Theresa Tunnicliff

Frank Renk

BASS CLARINET

Frank Renk

BASSOON

Valentin Martchev

Principal

Ryan Simmons

Leyla Zamora

CONTRABASSOON

Leyla Zamora

HORN

Benjamin Jaber

Principal

Darby Hinshaw

Assistant Principal & Utility

Warren Gref

Tricia Skye

Douglas Hall

TRUMPET

(Vacant)

Principal

John MacFerran Wilds

BILL CONTI.

PRINCIPAL POPS

MATTHEW GARBUTT,

PRINCIPAL SUMMER

POPS CONDUCTOR

KEN-DAVID MASUR,

ASSOCIATE CONDUCTOR

CONDUCTOR

Ray Nowak

TROMBONE

Principal

George Johnston

Kyle R. Covington

Richard Gordon +

Michael Priddy

BASS TROMBONE

Michael Priddy

TUBA

Matthew Garbutt

Principal

HARP

Julie Ann Smith

Principal

TIMPANI Ryan J. DiLisi

Principal

Andrew Watkins

Assistant Principal

PERCUSSION

Gregory Cohen

Principal

Kenneth McGrath (S)

Andrew Watkins

PIANO/CELESTE

Mary Barranger

ORCHESTRA PERSONNEL MANAGER

Magdalena O'Neill

ASSISTANT PERSONNEL MANAGER

Douglas Hall

PRINCIPAL LIBRARIAN Courtney Secoy Cohen

LIBRARIAN

Rachel Bellairs

(L) On Leave

(S) Long Term Substitute Musician + Staff Opera Musician

All musicians are members of the American Federation of Musicians Local 325.



Financial support is provided by the City of San Diego Commission for Arts and Culture.